Destination Thailand Visa
The DTV is a five-year multiple-entry Thai visa allowing 180 days per entry, aimed at remote workers and at people enrolled in approved Thai cultural activities. It has a 500,000 THB financial threshold, while document requirements vary by the embassy handling the application.
Last checked 3 October 2026. Official source: Royal Thai e-Visa portal.
This record has not been fully source-checked yet. The headline figures come from secondary sources and some fields are incomplete. Treat it as a starting point and confirm with the embassy before acting.
Requirements at a glance
| Stay per entry | 180 days |
|---|---|
| Total validity | 5 years |
| Extendable | Once per entry, by a further 180 days, inside Thailand |
| Entries | Multiple |
| Government fee | $340 — Ho Chi Minh City post fee. Posts publish the fee in local currency, so it differs by embassy (Kuala Lumpur lists MYR 1,600). A flat baht fee quoted by secondary sites is not stated on the embassy pages checked. |
| Income required | None |
| Savings required | ฿500,000 — the form of proof and the statement period are post-specific. Ho Chi Minh City accepts bank statements or a sponsorship letter; Oslo asks for statements showing an ending balance of at least 500,000 THB over the past three months. Check the embassy handling the application |
| Deposit required | None |
| Minimum age | None |
| Health insurance | Not required |
| Processing time | Set by each post. Ho Chi Minh City quotes 5 working days; Kuala Lumpur quotes about one month or more |
| Apply from | Outside Thailand, at the Thai embassy or consulate covering your place of residence |
DTV requirements by embassy
Each Thai post sets its own checklist. These are the posts whose official pages we read. “Not stated” means the page was read and does not say. If your post is not here, check your embassy’s own page before you pay anything.
| Post | Proof of residence | Police certificate | Money | Fee | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LondonAnnouncement dated 8 September 2026, in force from 31 August 2026 | Permanent residence in the UK, Ireland or a British Overseas Territory. The page gives UK indefinite leave to remain or Irish long-term residency as examples. | Required for every applicant. Must be issued within 6 months of the submission date, for example an ACRO certificate or an Irish police certificate. | Not stated | Not stated | Official pageRead 3 October 2026 |
| OsloPage updated 15 September 2026 | Permanent residence in Norway or Iceland. | Certificate of criminal record clearance from the Norwegian or Icelandic police. The page does not state a validity period. | At least 500,000 THB, shown by bank statements with an ending balance of at least 500,000 THB over the past three months. | Not stated | Official pageRead 3 October 2026 |
| Ho Chi Minh CityAnnouncement of 28 August 2026, in force from 31 August 2026. Earlier applications follow the old rules. | Long-term residence in Vietnam. Foreigners need a Temporary or Permanent Residence Card. The page says a temporary residence declaration does not count. | Certificate of criminal record clearance from the competent authority of the applicant's country of nationality or Viet Nam. The page does not state a validity period. | At least 500,000 THB, for example bank statements or a sponsorship letter. | 340 USD, paid by card. | Official pageRead 3 October 2026 |
| OsakaAnnouncement in force from 31 August 2026 | Permanent residence in the country or territory where the application is submitted. | Certificate from the country or territory of the applicant's nationality or permanent residence. The page does not state a validity period. | Not stated | Not stated | Official pageRead 3 October 2026 |
| Kuala LumpurFee table read. The checklist is published as images and could not be read. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 1,600 MYR for the workcation DTV, 5 years, multiple entry. | Official pageRead 3 October 2026 |
Any other post: check your embassy.
Rules at posts not listed above may differ. Do not assume the London or Oslo checklist applies to you.
- Los Angeles: Its site links to the e-Visa portal and does not publish a DTV checklist we could read. Read 3 October 2026.
No insurance rule, which is not the same as no need
Nothing in the DTV rules forces you to hold health cover. What the rules do not do is provide any, and that is the part worth reading:
- No health insurance is mandated for the DTV itself, which is unusual among the region's long-stay visas.
- Thailand does not provide public healthcare to visa holders, so the absence of a requirement is not the absence of a need.
Quick answers
- How long can I stay on the Thailand DTV?
- Stay per entry: 180 days. Total validity: 5 years. Extension: Once per entry, by a further 180 days, inside Thailand.
- How much does the Thailand DTV cost?
- The government fee on record is $340 (Ho Chi Minh City post fee).
- What money do I need to show for the Thailand DTV?
- The record lists savings of ฿500,000 (the form of proof and the statement period are post-specific).
- Do I need health insurance for the Thailand DTV?
- No rule makes you hold it. Thailand does not provide public healthcare to visa holders, so the absence of a requirement is not the absence of a need.
- Where do I apply for the Thailand DTV?
- Outside Thailand, at the Thai embassy or consulate covering your place of residence.
- Do I need a police certificate for the Thailand DTV?
- It depends on the post. The ones we read that ask for it: London, Oslo, Ho Chi Minh City, Osaka. Check the table above, and check your own embassy if it is not listed.
What most guides get wrong about the DTV
Each of these is a rule that changed, or a detail that is widely repeated incorrectly. Checked 3 October 2026.
The DTV asks for a utility bill or a document showing where you are right now.
Not since 31 August 2026. The Department of Consular Affairs replaced the document indicating current location with proof of permanent residence, and added a certificate of criminal record clearance. Applications submitted before that date follow the old list. Prepare residence proof for the country where you file, not a bill from wherever you happen to be staying.
- Royal Thai Embassy Moscow, citing the Department of Consular Affairs announcement of 28 August 2026officialMoscow · checked 6 October 2026
A criminal-record certificate must come from your home country, and the same rule applies at every post.
The certificate rule is post- and jurisdiction-specific. Osaka's 28 August 2026 announcement accepts a certificate from the applicant's country or territory of nationality or permanent residence. London requires a certificate for every DTV applicant, issued within six months of submission, while Oslo's 15 September 2026 checklist names Norwegian or Icelandic police for applicants filing there. Check the post handling your application rather than ordering a generic home-country certificate.
- Royal Thai Consulate-General OsakaofficialOsaka · checked 1 October 2026
- Royal Thai Embassy LondonofficialLondon · checked 1 October 2026
- Royal Thai Embassy OsloofficialOslo · checked 1 October 2026
Proof of current residence is enough, and a police certificate can be any age.
Residence evidence is also specific to the handling post. Osaka requires permanent residence in the country or territory where the application is submitted. London requires permanent residence in the UK, Ireland or a British Overseas Territory, and its police certificate must be issued within six months of submission. Oslo lists permanent residence in Norway or Iceland. Confirm the exact residence evidence before applying.
- Royal Thai Consulate-General OsakaofficialOsaka · checked 1 October 2026
- Royal Thai Embassy LondonofficialLondon · checked 1 October 2026
- Royal Thai Embassy OsloofficialOslo · checked 1 October 2026
Savings alone qualify you for the DTV.
The 500,000 THB financial evidence is not a standalone approval test. Oslo's checklist pairs its bank-balance evidence with an employment contract, employment certificate, or professional portfolio for the workcation route, and with activity or medical confirmation for the soft-power route. The handling post decides which supporting evidence applies to your category.
- Royal Thai Embassy OsloofficialOslo · checked 1 October 2026
- Royal Thai Consulate-General OsakaofficialOsaka · checked 1 October 2026
- Royal Thai Embassy LondonofficialLondon · checked 1 October 2026
Enrolling in a Thai language course qualifies you under the Soft Power category.
Sources disagree as of September 2026. Several report that Thai language schools were removed from the eligible Soft Power list, pushing language students to the Non-Immigrant ED visa; others still list language study as qualifying. Treat language study as unreliable grounds and confirm with your specific embassy before paying course fees.
You must hold the 500,000 THB in a Thai bank account, in baht.
Foreign currency in a personal account in your home country is accepted, valued at the equivalent on the date of the statement. You do not need a Thai bank account to apply.
Where it wins
- Five years of validity from a single application, with unlimited re-entry.
- The route has both workcation and qualifying-activity categories, but each handling post sets the supporting-document details.
- Covers dependants (spouse and children under 20) on the same basis.
Where it doesn’t
- Rejection rates have risen sharply through 2026, concentrated on freelancers with vague client documentation.
- The 180-day clock resets on exit, so staying continuously means border runs or an in-country extension.
- It confers no work permit for Thai employers, and no path to permanent residency.
Who cannot use this visa
- You cannot show proof of permanent residence in the country where you file. Since 31 August 2026 the DTV list asks for it in place of a current-location document.
- You cannot document the workcation or qualifying-activity evidence required by the handling post.
- You cannot provide the criminal-record certificate required by the handling post, where one is required.
Recent rule changes
- Not since 31 August 2026.
- The certificate rule is post- and jurisdiction-specific.
- Residence evidence is also specific to the handling post.
Where these figures come from
Every number above is transcribed from one of the sentences below. We publish the sentence rather than only the link, so you can check it in one click — and so a figure nobody transcribed from anywhere cannot reach this page.
“Foreigners can report their residence exceeding 90 days through the internet in advance, 15 days before the due date.”
Backs:
“Financial evidence: amount of no less than 500,000 THB, e.g. bank statements, sponsorship letter”
Backs: savingsRequirement.amount
“Financial evidence: an amount of no less than 500,000 THB ( bank statements showing an ending balance of at least 500,000 THB over the past three months )”
Backs: savingsRequirement.qualifier
“Visa processing fee: 340 USD”
Backs: governmentFee.amount, governmentFee.qualifier
“DTV Workcation (digital nomad/remote worker/ foreign talent/freelancer) N/A 1,600 5 years Multiple Entries”
Backs:
“Holder of DTV is entitled to stay in Thailand for a maximum period of 180 days.”
Backs:
“Validity of Visa: 5 years”
Backs:
Sources for this page
- Royal Thai e-Visa portalofficial
- Royal Thai Consulate-General OsakaofficialOsaka · checked 1 October 2026
- Royal Thai Embassy LondonofficialLondon · checked 1 October 2026
- Royal Thai Embassy OsloofficialOslo · checked 1 October 2026
- ThaiEmbassy.com DTV guide
- Siam Legal DTV page
Last checked 3 October 2026. Requirements are applied at the discretion of individual embassies and can change without notice. Confirm before you book anything.
Related visas and comparisons
More in Thailand
Compare with
- Thailand DTV vs Malaysia digital nomad visa
- Thailand DTV vs Bali digital nomad visa
- Thailand DTV vs Japan Digital Nomad Visa
- Thailand DTV vs Korea digital nomad visa
- Digital nomad visas in Asia, compared
- Which Thai long-stay visa fits you
- Visa application checklists
- Visa fees and funds planner
- Thailand visa insurance rules