Thailand DTV: do you need a police certificate?
The Thai Destination Thailand Visa (DTV) supporting-document list changed on 31 August 2026. A certificate of criminal record clearance was added and the current-location document was replaced by proof of permanent residence. The details differ by embassy, so the table below shows each post we have read.
| Visa | Gov. fee | Income | Savings | Deposit | Insurance | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DTV | $340 | Not stated | ฿500,000 | Not stated | None stated | Draft3 October 2026 |
Amounts are in the visa’s own currency, as stated by the source on each visa page. “Not stated” means the record holds no figure, not that the rule is absent: read the visa page for the conditions.
DTV requirements by embassy
Each Thai post sets its own checklist. These are the posts whose official pages we read. “Not stated” means the page was read and does not say. If your post is not here, check your embassy’s own page before you pay anything.
| Post | Proof of residence | Police certificate | Money | Fee | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LondonAnnouncement dated 8 September 2026, in force from 31 August 2026 | Permanent residence in the UK, Ireland or a British Overseas Territory. The page gives UK indefinite leave to remain or Irish long-term residency as examples. | Required for every applicant. Must be issued within 6 months of the submission date, for example an ACRO certificate or an Irish police certificate. | Not stated | Not stated | Official pageRead 3 October 2026 |
| OsloPage updated 15 September 2026 | Permanent residence in Norway or Iceland. | Certificate of criminal record clearance from the Norwegian or Icelandic police. The page does not state a validity period. | At least 500,000 THB, shown by bank statements with an ending balance of at least 500,000 THB over the past three months. | Not stated | Official pageRead 3 October 2026 |
| Ho Chi Minh CityAnnouncement of 28 August 2026, in force from 31 August 2026. Earlier applications follow the old rules. | Long-term residence in Vietnam. Foreigners need a Temporary or Permanent Residence Card. The page says a temporary residence declaration does not count. | Certificate of criminal record clearance from the competent authority of the applicant's country of nationality or Viet Nam. The page does not state a validity period. | At least 500,000 THB, for example bank statements or a sponsorship letter. | 340 USD, paid by card. | Official pageRead 3 October 2026 |
| OsakaAnnouncement in force from 31 August 2026 | Permanent residence in the country or territory where the application is submitted. | Certificate from the country or territory of the applicant's nationality or permanent residence. The page does not state a validity period. | Not stated | Not stated | Official pageRead 3 October 2026 |
| Kuala LumpurFee table read. The checklist is published as images and could not be read. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 1,600 MYR for the workcation DTV, 5 years, multiple entry. | Official pageRead 3 October 2026 |
Any other post: check your embassy.
Rules at posts not listed above may differ. Do not assume the London or Oslo checklist applies to you.
- Los Angeles: Its site links to the e-Visa portal and does not publish a DTV checklist we could read. Read 3 October 2026.
Quick answers
- Do I need a police certificate for a Thailand DTV?
- Since 31 August 2026, yes at the posts we have read. The Royal Thai Embassy in Moscow, citing the Department of Consular Affairs announcement of 28 August 2026, says applicants must submit a certificate of criminal record clearance as an additional supporting document. Which country the certificate may come from, and how recent it must be, is set by the post that handles your application.
- What changed on 31 August 2026?
- The embassy page says the document indicating current location was replaced with proof of permanent residence, and a certificate of criminal record clearance was added. Applications submitted before 31 August 2026 are processed under the previous list.
- Which embassy pages have we read?
- Royal Thai Embassy London, Royal Thai Embassy Oslo, Royal Thai Consulate-General Ho Chi Minh City, Royal Thai Consulate-General Osaka, Royal Thai Embassy Kuala Lumpur. Each row in the table below has its own link and check date.
- Can I use a utility bill as proof?
- The announcement replaces the current-location document with proof of permanent residence. What your post accepts as that proof is on its own page, so read it before ordering anything.
- How current is this page?
- Each row carries its own check date. Embassies update these lists without notice, so re-read your post's page on the day you apply.
Official sources
Rules change without notice and posts apply them differently. Re-read the official page on the day you pay.
- Royal Thai e-Visa portalofficial
- Royal Thai Consulate-General OsakaofficialOsaka · checked 1 October 2026
- Royal Thai Embassy LondonofficialLondon · checked 1 October 2026
- Royal Thai Embassy OsloofficialOslo · checked 1 October 2026
- ThaiEmbassy.com DTV guide
- Siam Legal DTV page
More tools and guides
- Which Thai long-stay visa fits you
- Indonesia long-stay visas: C1 vs the Bali nomad visa
- Vietnam digital nomad visa: what exists
- Thai retirement visa (O-A) insurance requirements
- Malaysia DE Rantau vs MM2H
- Philippines long-stay visas: SRRV, 13A, 9G
- Partner with Asia Visa Guide
- Visa fees and funds planner
- Visa application checklists
- Dated rule changes